«

»

Jan 30

Print this Post

What you need to know about whey protein powders:

You’re at the gym, proud of yourself for sticking to your New Year’s resolution, thinking “I finally got the hang of this,” already picturing yourself in the great shape you will shortly be in. When suddenly someone interrupts your daydream by asking you if you are taking Kosher Whey Protein, and if not shouldn’t you start?

Let’s start with the basics: Why should you take protein powder?

Your body needs a certain amount of protein daily in order to repair and build new muscle tissue. However if you are not eating enough protein, your body is unable to do that. Protein powder is a simple and easy way to get the extra protein you need in a quick, convenient and great tasting way. Another benefit of kosher protein powder that you get while working out, is that the amino acids in the protein powder will promote the repair process to begin.

For those of you that imagined whey protein powder being made in a lab by scientists mixing chemicals together, you couldn’t be more wrong. Whey protein is actually made from the liquid byproduct that occurs during the production of cheese.

So that covers the basics of Whey Protein right?

WRONG. There are different forms of whey protein powders. When picking a Whey Protein powder you have the choice between Concentrate, Isolate or sometimes a Combination of the two. This brings up the next question, which one should you choose?

Whey Protein Concentrate is the cheaper of the two since it does not go through the many steps of filtration as the other forms. This form is higher in protein then other forms of protein, but contains some lactose.

Whey Protein Isolate goes through an additional step of purification which takes out all the lactose and because of this has a higher amount of protein then the concentrate.

So when deciding which proteins to purchase, you have to decide which factors are important to you, such as pricing or if you are lactose intolerant. If you are still undecided, you can pay us a visit online at www.koshervitamins.com or call us at 800-645-1899 and we will be more than happy to provide you with all the kosher protein powder options we have to meet all your needs!

Permanent link to this article: http://www.koshervitaminsblog.com/2014/01/what-you-need-to-know-kosherwhey-protein-powders/

2 comments

  1. Thanh V. Clarke

    Many consumers use protein powders to improve their nutritional status although it is rare that a user actually needs the product to meet his basic needs. Protein powders made from whey, casein, soy, egg whites or collagen, or a mixture of several sources, come in a variety of flavors to be blended as shakes for a snack or meal replacement. However, those made from milk proteins — whey and casein — may cause symptoms if you are lactose intolerant.

  2. Leah Roth

    That is correct, we sell many different kosher certified protein powders from the above sources you mentioned for someone that has lactose intolerance (See the links below):

    Kosher Rice Protein Powder: http://tinyurl.com/kzlobht
    Kosher Soy Protein Powder: http://tinyurl.com/n5jpb6j
    Kosher Hemp Protein Powder: http://tinyurl.com/l2geree
    Kosher Egg Protein Powder: http://tinyurl.com/kmtlq8e
    Kosher Pea Protein Powder: http://tinyurl.com/keyedgu

    The article was just referring to the different types of whey protein out there. Also if someone if only slightly lactose intolerant Whey Protein Isolate may be fine for you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>